Sep. 7th, 2006

icemink: (Why me? by delwyncole)
I don't know what it is, but I keep having all the unusual bad things happen to me. Sunday I got stung by a bee. Sure bee stings aren't all that rare, but I've never been stung before in my life. I would have just chalked it up to a new experience, but the wound became infected. By Tuesday morning, my entire forearm (I was stung just below my wrist) and turned red, was hot to the touch, and slightly swollen, not to mention it still hurt a lot.

So bright and early I went into the doctors office. I got there at 7:30 which is when they opened, hoping I could get the first available walk-in appointment. It took until 10:00 for them to realize that the doctor they scheduled me with had a vacation day. They hadn't taken her out of the system though, so they kept scheduling appointments for her. So instead of the 8:30 appointment I was supposed to have, I didn' see a doctor until 10:30. It was no big deal though, they gave me anti-biotics, and it's no longer hot or swollen, although the skin is still a little red.

Then today I was driving to a job interview and I rear-ended a guy on the highway. By the time I hit the guy, I was probably only going 10mph, but the reason I didn't know he was stopped was because his break lights were out so when I first saw him I assumed he was just moving slowly and all the other lanes were moving, so it wasn't like the whole highway was bumper to bumper. I'm just annoyed I didn't think to pull the emergency brake, I would have stopped in time if I had, because I was so close to not hitting him. There was almost no damage, and no one was hurt, so my insurance company said that it might just be a reporting only kind of thing. The annoying thing was the guy denied his breaklights were out. When we stopped to exchange information he even had me sit in his car, start it up and hit the breaks and he couldn't tell if they worked or not, but he still said "They must work, I just took the car in."

Sigh, please don't let my insurance go up.

Oh, well, tomorrow I got to Long Beach for JM&Friends, so maybe it's just a little preemptive bad karma to make up for the wonderful time I'm going to have :)

AIDS walk

Sep. 7th, 2006 09:28 pm
icemink: (Hapiness by vampkiss)
So about a month ago, I was working in the VIP area for a huge AIDS benefit. The sad thing was that almost everyone there was gay. It's true that the gay community is one of the hardest hit by AIDS, but it isn't a gay disease as people once thought, and I thought it was sad that the only people who seemed to care were people who'd been personally touched by the disease. Sure that's human nature, I understand it, but I thought I'd try and be a little better than that. I've never really known anyone who has AIDS, except for a friend of my sister that I only met once, but even so I'm going to be participating in the Los Angeles AIDS Walk as part of Team Neptune (because of my recent obsession with Veroncia Mars).

So please if you can donate, and if you live in the area why not join us?

And by the way, I found out about this through [livejournal.com profile] ghostgirl13 and you can read all about it here in her journal.

Profile

icemink: (Default)
icemink

July 2009

S M T W T F S
    1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:12 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios